Book Talk and Discussions

Alice in Wonderland

It’s no secret to those who know me that I have a mild obsession with Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol. I wrote a blog post about it a long time ago, but I thought it was time to update my thoughts on Alice since it’s been a while and “I’ve changed a few times since then” (that was an Alice quote … like I said … obsessed).

Alice is one of the most quotable books I’ve read, and I try to live my life by those quotes. “It’s no use going back to yesterday because I was a different person then” is all about moving forward and acknowledging that we grow as a person. “Who in the world am I? Ah, that’s the great puzzle” is a quote which identifies the eternal search for our sense of self and the discovery of what makes us truly unique. Throughout the book Alice is constantly being mistaken for other people, animals, and creatures to the point that she herself is unsure of who she is, “I knew who I was this morning but I’ve changed a few times since then.” And finally, it’s all about embracing our inner madness because, “We’re all mad here; I’m mad, you’re mad.”

I think it’s these quotes and life lessons that attracts me so much to this book. Maybe I’m looking too much into it, analysing it and seeing things that Carrol never intended for us to see, but this is essentially what the book says to me: We are all “mad” and quirky in some way. We’re constantly changing as people, and who we are may not stay the same for long; And, most importantly, these are good things.

Leave a Reply

