Wrap-Ups and TBRs

TBR | March 2017

After accidentally creating a holiday TBR (and enjoying it) I’ve decided to break my rule and make my first official monthly TBR. Huzzah! Of course, I picked just about the WORST month for my first TBR as I’ve just gone back to university and there are not one, not two, but three video games coming out in March that I will likely become too emotionally invested in (hello Zelda, Horizon Zero Dawn, and Mass Effect: Andromeda). So I’m going to set what will hopefully be a very realistic and achievable TBR for myself. Reflecting on the books I’ve chosen, I’ve noticed they all seem to be dark and melancholy … apparently I’m in that sort of mood! Must be because I’m no longer on holidays …

VilletteThe first book I want to read this month was easy to choose as I have one week to finish it for university. I have to read Villette by Charlotte Bronte, author of the popular Jane Eyre (which I’ve also read). I’m cautious about this book as I loved the first half of Jane Eyre, but not the second. However, I really liked the writing style and the themes of the book. I’ve gone into Villette blind, knowing nothing about it other than the fact that education is a key theme. So far the writing style is not what I was expecting as it’s quite different to Jane Eyre. Hopefully I’ll like it.

The Bloody Chamber And Other StoriesThe next book I want to read is The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter. This is an anthology of dark, fairy-tale like short stories. I’ve been meaning to read this for a while and saw this gorgeous hardback copy and couldn’t resist it. I mean, look at it. It’s so pretty! I read one of the stories from this anthology a few years ago for university and adored it so much that I wrote an essay on it. I just loved the dark, melancholy tone of the piece and the incredibly vivid descriptions. I’m so excited to read it.

The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy & Other StoriesThe next book I want to read is The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and Other Stories by Tim Burton. I picked another short story anthology for this month because I find them really helpful to break up the required readings for uni. This is quite a short book and it consists of a mixture of surreal poems and short stories, some of which are illustrated. I am a huge fan of Tim Burton’s films and am really excited to read this one!

Jude the ObscureThe fourth and final book I want to get to this month is another one for my studies, and that is Jude the Obscure by Thomas Hardy. I’m not sure of the exact details of the plot, but my understanding is that it deals a lot with societal outcasts and outsiders. Apparently it’s quite sad and explores societal norms, particularly classicism. I’ve never read any of Hardy’s novels, so have no idea what to expect! It sounds good though, and I have a mini, 1000 word essay to write on it, so hopefully I like it.

So those are the four books I’m hoping to get to this month. I’m not putting any pressure to read all of them (apart from the uni ones of course) as I still haven’t quite worked out how intense my study load is this semester. It seems like it’s going to be a lot, so I’m being cautious this month until I settle into the new routine. I shall report back at the end of the month!

~ Sarah ~

Save

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “TBR | March 2017

  1. The Bloody Chamber is my favorite short story collection ever since I had to read a number of the stories for a Fractured Fairy Tales class in college. My favorite story is The Company of Wolves, but they’re all quite exceptional. I hope you get around to reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

