Wrap-Ups and TBRs

Wrap-up | February 2017

I feel like I say this every month, but oh my gosh I can’t believe the month is over! Seriously, how is it March already? February was an awesome month for me as I spent half of it in the South Pacific on a cruise ship. Oh it was so nice. I spent a fair amount of the days at sea reading, mostly in between the ship activities … mostly trivia. This post is going to be relatively short, not because I didn’t read much, but because 3 out of 4 of the books I read this month belonged to the same series and the other was 900 pages. As always, these mini reviews are spoiler free!

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3)

The majority of my reading this month was taken up by The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. This is an excellent fantasy series that plays with some classic fantasy elements and tropes, but gives them new life through a unique setting. Most fantasy books I’ve read are based in worlds based on medieval Europe, but this series is more reflective of imperial Russia, which I think is just awesome. It combines magic and gunpowder in a way I haven’t seen before. The world absolutely sucked me in. The plot is fun, albeit a bit tropey and predictable, but was still quite enjoyable. The characters are what made this series so amazing for me. There was a real haze between the “good” and “evil” in each character, which led to some pretty interesting ethical dilemmas. The humour and banter between certain characters was hysterical at times and the dialogue felt really natural. It was a really fun series to read, and the setting especially was really refreshing.

The Pillars of the Earth (The Pillars of the Earth, #1)

The next book I read was a re-read (the 4th time re-reading), and that was The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. This is an epic historic fiction set in medieval England during the civil war between King Stephen and Empress Maud. I dunno, there’s just something about this book that sucks me in every time. The characters are incredibly realistic, and though the plot drags a little sometimes, I just find myself so invested emotionally. The world is so vibrant and vividly described, and you learn quite a lot about daily life back in the middle ages, which is fascinating and is probably another reason why I enjoy it so much. I also love underhand politics and intrigue, and there is a lot of that in this book. I’m pretty happy I managed to read it all this month seeing as how it’s 900 pages!

Well there you have it, my somewhat shorter than usual wrap-up. March will be an interesting month for my reading as I have two large books to read for university, and there are three video games coming out that I absolutely cannot wait to lose my life to. So we’ll see how much I end up reading.

Save

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “Wrap-up | February 2017

  1. I’m really glad you enjoyed the Grisha trilogy. With all of the hype around Six of Crows, I have been meaning to read this series to get into that universe a little bit, and I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed the world building so much it sucked you in! 🙂 I hope you’ll have a lovely March 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

