Book Talk and Discussions

Holiday “TBR”

So by the time you’re reading this I will be preparing to board a cruise ship woohoo! As I literally can’t function without having a book or two nearby, I had to think very hard about what books I wanted to take away with me. There were a few things to take into account, such as the weight of the books and the amount of space they take up. I’m also really unsure how much time I’ll have to read, and if I’ll have any at all. Plus I have to prepare for the bizarre notion that I may not actually WANT to read while on the cruise (yes, yes, no point pretending that’s unlikely). Anyway, so here are the two books I’ve chosen to take away with me and may or may not read:

Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3)

The first book I will be taking is Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo, the third book in the Grisha trilogy, the series I’m currently working my way through. This is a fantasy series which is primarily focused around a country called Ravka, which has a cool Imperial Russian feel to it. This series has magic, political intrigue, creepy monsters, a great story, and incredible characters. I’m currently about halfway through the second book, which I’m confident I’ll finish before I leave. I doubt I’ll have book 3 finished though and there is no way I’m going to go two weeks without knowing what happens to the characters!

The Pillars of the Earth  (Kingsbridge series, #1)

The other book I’m bringing along with me is The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. This is the first in the Kingbridge Series, though both books can be read as a stand alone. This is a hictorical fiction set in the 1100s, and is set in the fictional town of Kingsbridge where a new cathedral is being constructed. We follow a cast of characters, some nice, many not, who scheme, murder, and manipulate in order to forward their own ambition. And, of course, the construction of the cathedral itself is at the center of many of these violent disputes. There is a lot of political intrigue, including real historical figures such as Empress Mathilda and King Stephen. I have so much love for this series and I’m re-reading it for the billionth time in preparation for the third book being released in May, which I’m so excited for! I have no idea if I’ll finish this book because it’s just under 1,000 pages, but it’s one of my favourite books and I generally binge read it in a few days when I’m home. Thankfully it’s on my kindle (I can’t find my paperback anywhere!) so it won’t take up much space. I’ve also got the second book on my kindle in case I magically get through it.

 

So those are the books I may potentially read when I’m away. But to be realistic, I’m not sure how much time I’ll actually contribute to reading. But then again, I do like the idea of sitting on the balcony and reading while the sun sets …

5 thoughts on “Holiday “TBR”

Leave a Reply

