Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesday | Goals

Hey folks, it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday (you can check out the group here) and this week’s topic is “Top 5 Goals.” Quite appropriate for the first Top 5 post of the year! So I’m actually not someone who sets yearly resolutions, or anything like that. I set myself these types of goals regularly, altering them when needed, adding more when I’ve achieved the last ones, etc etc. So the new year doesn’t really change anything for me as I usually already have goals set anyway!

But I thought I’d share with you some of my book and reading related goals for the near future.

1) Personal Reading During the Semester

Out of all of my goals, I feel like this one is the most important. After reviewing my reading trends from last year, I noticed that my reading significantly dropped during the university semester when I was stuck reading assigned books. I read what I was assigned, and that was pretty much the only reading I did. Most of my reading was during the holidays. I want to change this because reading is something that I do for fun, and because I love it. It relaxes me. So during the semester I want to obviously prioritise my assigned readings, but to still find time to sit and read what I want. Even if that means specifically designating a day or a few hours here and there for “personal reading.”

2) Branch out

I’ve already started working on this goal. I already read a vast array of different genres, but there are still a few I haven’t read much of for various reasons, and would like to give another try. I’m not going to force myself to read anything I’m not enjoying, but I’m curious to see if my tastes have changed.

  • The first genre is Contemporary. This is a genre that just hasn’t interested me much in the past, but I’ve recently been curious about again. I think I’m just picky when it comes to this genre. Because it’s about normal people in our normal world, the characters have to be seriously engaging or relatable in order to hold my focus.
  • The second genre is mystery/detective fiction. I haven’t read much of this genre at all. No particular reason why. I have some Agatha Christie sitting on my shelf, so I’ll probably start there.
  • The third genre is more of a style/age group, and that’s children’s literature. I stopped reading middle-grade books as I grew older, naturally moved onto other things, but I still love them! I didn’t read them for a long time because it never occurred to me that I’d still enjoy them. Of course I still enjoy them! I don’t know why I stopped. I’m keen to get back into it.

3) Tackle the TBR shelf

I’m sure I share this goal with a billion other people, but I want to get through the unread books on my shelf. These are the books I’ve bought here and there, that I really want to read, but keep getting pushed back by other books I buy. I don’t like it when I haven’t read a large portion of my shelf, so I want to get that under control. Plus then it justifies my book buying problem …

4) Read more Non-Fiction

This one sort of fits into goal 2, but I decided to keep it separate. I read a bunch of creative non-fiction for uni last year and enjoyed it. I’d to read more, but be able to pick and choose the topics I enjoy, rather than what the uni wants me to read. I’m particularly interested in mythology but have only read the myths rather than actually looking at the cultures and people who told those myths. So I’d like to expand my knowledge there.

5) Achieve my Goodreads goal

My goal is 50, which I think is pretty achievable for me.

 

Woot woot, so those are my goals 🙂 If anyone has any goals they’d like to share, or have thoughts on mine, let me know! I’d especially love to hear nay book recommendations in regards to my second goal!

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Goals

  1. Nonfiction is a huge goal for me this year. I set a monthly requirement and I’m trying different types of nonfiction because typically I stay in the self help/psychology, business/leadership or memiors(so far my favorite to do as an audiobook).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I just finished Anna Kendricks which was great. Same with Lauren Graham. Both were audiobooks that they read themselves which made it that much better. Do you have any favorites?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks, I’ll check those out!
        I haven’t read a bunch, but my fave is Maus by Art Spiegelman. It’s a graphic novel, so a little different. Im currently reading The Secret Lives and Loves of Geek Girls which is an anthology of a bunch of stories by various women. Some are prose and some are comics, very cool!

        Like

Leave a Reply

