Monthly Favourites & Hauls

Christmas book haul!

Christmas has come and gone and some awesome books were left in its wake. I got some very cool, andย  interesting books this year that I’m rather excited about! I can’t wait to share them with you, so here are the books I received for xmas.

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other StoriesThe first book I received as a loving gift from myself! I get overly stressed this time of year, so I thought I deserved something special. I bought myself this Barnes & Noble edition of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Other Stories. It is stunning! My local bookstore got in heaps of the B&N editions (a rare occurrence) so I couldn’t resist. I’d been eyeing off this edition online, but shipping would have been expensive due to the weight (it’s a 1165 page hardback!). Xmas was the perfect time for this to arrive at my bookstore and I couldn’t leave it there. I am so happy I got it! It’s a beautiful edition.

The Complete Fiction

The next book I received was The Complete Fiction by H.P Lovecraft. This is also a part of the B&N Leatherbound collection, and was bought for me by my boyfriend from my local bookstore. It is a beautiful book (the cover is much more vivid in person) that contains all of H.P Lovecraft’s work. I enjoy horror novels and short stories but have never read any of his work, so I’m excited to get started. I keep trying to read The Call of Cthulhu, but every time I pick up this monster of a book, my cat decides she needs to sit on my lap. Let me tell you, my arms are not strong enough to hold this book up without crushing her. Seriously though, I’ve tried to read it 3 times now and she keeps sabotaging my attempts …

Star Wars: Dot To Dot

The next book was a gift from my parents and is something I didn’t know I needed. But gosh do I love it. It’s a Star Wars dot to dot … a really hard one. When I un-wrapped it and saw the cover, I thought “oh cute, this should kill an hour or two” …. then I opened it and immediately regretted presuming this would be easy. Guys, this book is intense. I started one and couldn’t find dot number two despite looking for it for over 10 minutes. It’s so cool! We’ll see how long it takes me to do one image. The highest number of dots I’ve found so far was 1200 dots … wish me luck!

The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia

The last three books on my list are books I received from my incredible boyfriend. He got me The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia. I am a big Zelda fan, so this was awesome to get. I got a lot of Zelda loot this year, including a cute little pixel Link tin, and a faux leather case to keep my 3DS in (yes, it’s a Zelda 3DS). The Historia is full of concept art and history behind several of the games. It does contain some spoilers though, so I’ll need to be careful reading it as there are some story lines I either have not played, or haven’t played since I was a kid and therefore need to re-play to remember. But I’ve been meaning to replay some of the older games, so this gives me the perfect excuse/incentive to do so.

52 Things To Do While You Poo

The next book I unwrapped is hilariously silly. I got 52 Things To Do While You Poo by Hugh Jassburn … that name though. This book is part of an ongoing joke in my family. My family has always found toilet humour hysterical (my Grandma will laugh until she cries), then I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease, which is an inflammatory bowel disease and often leads me to spend extended hours in the bathroom. It also provided extra fodder for my family’s love of toilet and poop jokes. So, every year, I receive novelty gifts such as this (this year I also got special loo paper and a fun card game called “poo”). This book is full of random little facts and games, such as mazes and spot the differences, all sharing the toilet theme and designed to keep you entertained while you do your business. It’s hilarious.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

And last up is a book I have wanted ever since it came out, The illustrated Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. This book is so gorgeous and the illustrations are incredible. I had a brief look at the pictures, but I want to save them for when I read it properly. Harry Potter is one of those series that I’ve read countless times, and is the only series that I can read out of order. So I’m quite happy to read this edition, then buy the second, and then wait impatiently for the third to be released. I can’t wait to get started!

 

So those are the bookish goodies I received ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope everyone had an awesome holiday! Did anyone else get any interesting bookish gifts?

 

 

 

Save

7 thoughts on “Christmas book haul!

  1. The books you got are amazing! That colouring book?? So jealous!!! I got some books for Christmas too, my most interesting one Iโ€™d say is A Christmas carol and other tales as its hardback, leather bound, and has gold pages, (I think itโ€™s the same as your Alice in wonderland copy?).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

