Book Talk and Discussions

Intimidating Books on my Shelf

Okay so I was sitting with a cup of coffee and admiring my bookshelf (I have too much time on my hands) and I noticed some books which I really want to read, but haven’t yet because they intimidate the heck out of me! I’m not usually intimidated by books, but these ones do intimidate me for various reasons, not just size (though that is certainly a factor with some of them). So I thought it would be fun to share five of these books and talk about why they intimidate me, but why I’m still keen to read them! In no particular order:

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell

The first book I’m going to talk about is Jonathon Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke. I actually have no idea why this book is so intimidating to me. My understanding is that it’s a fantasy crossed with historic fiction setting, which is one of my most favourite things ever! It’s not specifically the size that intimidates me, my hardback copy being 782 pages, I think it’s my worry that it will drag in the middle as I find that a lot of large books in this type of genre and style have a tendency for. But I really want to read it! Guys, help! Has anyone read it? Is it worth it?

Magician (The Riftwar Saga, #1-2)

Next up is Magician by Raymond E. Feist. This is the first in an outrageously popular and EPIC fantasy series. I know so many people who have read and loved these books. And once again, it’s not the 681 pages that intimidates me, it’s the fact that this series is freaking huge. The complete Riftwar Cycle and all of its various series (set in the same world) consists of something like 32 books! Now, I know I can just read the Riftwar Saga, the original three books (Magician being book #1), but I’m one of those “all or nothing” people who like to really dive in and read it all. It’s just a lot to dive into. Baby steps … baby steps.

It

Alright, the next book probably doesn’t need much of an explanation, but It by Stephen King is a book on my shelf that is intimidating me. For starters, my edition is 1,376 pages long! And it’s supposed to be terrifying! I’m a fan of Stephen King’s short stories (you can read my review of Bazaar of Bad Dreams here) but I’ve only read one of his novels, and that was Carrie, which is an awesome book by the way. So I’m keen to try a few more of his novels, but It is meant to be particularly scary. I have a few more of his novels on my shelf, so I may work my way up to it.

The Black Prism (Lightbringer, #1)

The next book on my list is The Black Prism by Brent Weeks, the first in the Lightbringer series. Now, despite hearing only good things about this series, the reason I find it intimidating is because I’ve already read another series by Bent Weeks, and had incredibly mixed feeling about it, so I’m worried it will be the same for this series (not very fair, I know). I read the Night Angel series, loved the first book, thought the second was okay, then really didn’t like the last one because it felt incredibly rushed, despite being around 700 pages. But I loved Weeks’ writing style, his characterizations (apart from one too “perfect” character who annoyed the crap out of me) , and his descriptions are awesome. So I’m going to give this series a go at some point.

Go Set a Watchman

The final book I want to talk about is Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee. Like many people, I absolutely adored To Kill a Mockingbird, so the release of this book had me on the edge of my seat, both in excitement and trepidation. I was given this book for my birthday not long after it came out, and still haven’t gotten around to it. I think the primary reason is that I suspect I’ll be disappointed by it. The little I know about the book (which I won’t say as they’re minor spoilers) had me frowning. I’ve heard very mixed reviews on it as well. But I ultimately want to make up my own mind, so I am determined to wipe the slate clean and give it a fair go.

So those are just a few of the books on my shelf that intimidate me. Have you read any of these and have any thoughts on them? What books intimidate you? Let me know!

Save

10 thoughts on “Intimidating Books on my Shelf

    1. I know a lot of people who haven’t read Jonathan Strange yet for these reasons. I read the first Outlander book and to be honest I felt it dragged a lot and didn’t need to be as long as it is. I’ve heard the books get better as the series progresses though!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Nice list! πŸ™‚
    I’m not sure but I think I’m about halfway throw the Riftwar Cycle and it’s still awesome a.f.! I have the Black Prism on my list as well and I actually started it, but I had some trouble getting into the story and so I put it aside for now. Jonothan Strange & Mr. Norrell is also still on my list haha
    like I said, nice list hahaha have you tried the series by Steven Erikson? The Malazan Book of the Fallen, it’s really awesome and quite intimidating (I’ve reached the third book so far)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really do need to push through and read the Riftwar Cycle, I’ve only heard good things! goals for 2017? πŸ˜› I haven’t heard of the Malazan Book of the Fallen, but just looked it up and it sounds great! Thanks for the tip!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

