Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesday | Books I Want to FINALLY Read in 2017

Click here for the Top 5 group on Goodreads! Out of the few Top 5 Wednesdays I have participated in so far, this was the most difficult by a HUGE margin! There are a ridiculous amount of books on my TBR list and picking the top 5 was difficult. So to make it easier, I restricted myself to books that I either already own, or that complete a series I’ve already started reading. So without further ado and in no particular order (except the first one), here are my top 5.

 

A Column of Fire (The Pillars of the Earth, #3)Okay I’m sort of cheating with this first one because I’m not supposed to choose books that haven’t been released yet but I’m including this one because its predecessor was published 9 years ago! I just … I just … guys I neeeeeeed this book but it isn’t out until next year! A Column of Fire by Ken Follett is the third book in one of (if not) my favourite series of all time: The Kingsbridge Series, which started with the amazing Pillars of the Earth in 1989 … before I was born. This historic fiction series is just phenomenal. The first book is set in twelfth century england and follows a varied cast of characters as their lives revolve around the construction of a new cathedral. The second book is set 200 years later in the same town. The characters are incredibly vivid in both books, some are in favor of the new cathedral, some against. Through cutthroat acts and manipulation, the characters work to out-play each other and take advantage of all situations. I don’t know a huge amount about this latest book, all I know is that it set during the reign of Queen Elizabeth 1 … and that’s all I want to know. I didn’t even read the Goodreads page, I just linked it.

f5d4c2f4a347665c4572d1c04a1ab1b8Next on my list is The Sandman series by Neil Gaiman. I have read the first volume in this graphic novel series and loved it! It’s a dark fantasy series that follows Morpheus, the personification of Dreams. The series weaves together folklore, fairytales and mythology into one dark, thrilling story, and the surreal illustrations perfectly capture the atmosphere. I haven’t continued with the series yet as I want to buy the boxed set because it’s pretty… but that’s a lot of money and I’m about to go away on holiday. 2017 will be my year though!

1984This next book is 1984 by George Orwell, andΒ  I have been meaning to read this since I first read his book Animal Farm around eight years ago (which is an amazing book and very quick to read by the way). I only just got myself a copy from the second hand bookstore (cost me $5 woohoo!) and now I have no excuse. This is a dystopian novel that gave rise to the famous “Big Brother is watching you.” In this world, everything you do, even what you think, is monitored. Big Brother sees and knows everything, and he does not tolerate dissent. It sounds awesome and right up my alley, and I just have no idea why I haven’t read it yet!

The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1)

Another book I’ve really been meaning to get to is Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson, the first book in the Mistborn series. I don’t know much about this series other than it is a fantasy series with a lot of great reviews. I read The Rithmatist by the same author, loved it, and wrote a review for it here. I added Mistborn to my TBR immediately after reading Rithmatist as I like Sanderson’s writing style. My partner has the first book in this series sitting on our shelf, but has sadly misplaced the others! So I will wait until they’re found or we’ve replaced them.

The Miniaturist

The last book I definitely want to get around to reading in 2017 is The Miniaturist by Jesse Burton. This is a historic fiction set in Amsterdam in 1686 following a girl who has just married a merchant trader. She is given a replica model of their home, which starts to mirror their life in strange ways. That’s about all I know, but the idea reminds me a lot of Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Grey, where the portrait changes over time to reflect the sort of person Dorian is. But I may be way off the mark there! I want to get around to reading this book because I have wanted to read it since it was first published, and I managed to grab the hardback edition a few weeks ago because I found it on sale! So I have no excuse now.

 

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Books I Want to FINALLY Read in 2017

Leave a Reply

