Book Talk and Discussions

3 Books I Loved As a Kid (and still love!)

We all have these books: they’re the ones that have been on your shelf for years, perhaps no longer in the best condition, pages slightly torn, maybe a little sticky … the ones we’ve held onto through numerous book culls, spring cleans, and garage sales: These are the books we grew up with.

There’s something really special about the books we loved as kids, maybe because these are the books that got us into reading in the first place. Whatever the case, I have compiled below a list ofΒ  3 book series I loved as a kid, and still love all these years later.

Inkheart (Inkworld, #1)The very first book that came to mind is Inkheart, the first in the Inkworld trilogy by Cornelia Funke. It’s about a family whose members have the strange ability to call fictional characters out of their books, and into our own world, but at a cost. When Mortimer reads from a book titledΒ Inkheart, both its protagonist, Dustfinger, and several of its antagonists, Capricorn and Basta, find themselves in our world. And Capricorn likes it here and intends to stay.

I read the first book when I was 10 and simply adored it. It’s really a celebration of literature and reading.Β The main character Meggie, who I believe is around 12, is an avid reader and there are references to books throughout this entire novel. Each chapter starts with a quote from a classic children’s story which reflects the content of the chapter itself. It’s really cute, and is a fun way to introduce kids to classics. The story is fun, action-packed and full of magic and adventure.

The Book of LiesMy next pick is The Book of Lies by James Molony, again the first in a series. I enjoy the other books in the series, but this one is by far my favourite. I read it so many times I can still recite the riddle that is given to the characters, and is the blurb at the back of the edition I own. The concept behind this book is just so interesting. The protagonist, Marcel, arrives at an orphanage where his memory is sealed away in a mysterious book called The Book of Lies: a magic artifact that records any lie it “hears.” Marcel endeavors to find out who he is, and he and his new friends find themselves swept up in a political plot that threatens the peace of their country.

This book is fast paced, action packed, and actually quite thought provoking. Even years later I find my mind wandering to some of the themes and ideas presented, and I always find something new when I re-read it. It just blew my mind as a kid.

Wolf Brother (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness, #1)

My final pick is Wolf Brother by Michelle Paver, yet again the first in a series (I’m noticing a trend here!). I was obsessed with wolves when I was a kid and adored reading about them in stories. So I was super excited when this series came out as one of the main characters is a wolf! It’s an incredible pre-history set book that combines tribal legends with demons and magic. It follows Torak and his 3 month old wolf cub as they find themselves alone and left with a quest to lead a demonic bear, hell-bent on killing everyone, to the World Spirit in order to destroy it. The world is full of danger in the form of predators, natural disasters, magic, and other tribes. I love this book and am planning to re-read it again soon as I’ve only read up to the fourth book in the series. It’s really well written, the story is so vibrant and action packed, and I just love the connection between Torak and his wolf. It’s just such a good series.

 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

