Reviews

Blood Orange Soda | Book Review

Blood Orange Soda

I read Blood Orange Soda after a friend recommended it to me, and I must admit I was pleasantly surprised! I’m sure I don’t need to tell you how “in” and overplayed vampires are these days, but Blood Orange Soda is not your average, sparkly, teenage vamp story. It’s unique, fast paced, hilarious, and one to sink your teeth into.

First off, I was amazed at the originality of this story. I was expecting your typical teenage angst, cliche love triangle, and overly melodramatic characters. Though there was plenty of teenage angst (what teen isn’t, after all) it was done so in a comic way that had me laughing. The main character, for example, is cynical, sarcastic, and moody, but is aware of these faults and embraces them, leading to some hilarious narration.

The plot is well paced and thought out. Not once did I feel the book dragging, and I loved the sub-plots scattered throughout. Each sub-plot was interesting, relevant to the main story, and most importantly, resolved.

This book has some heavy themes beneath the comedy. The importance of family, HIV, the perils of growing up, and bullying to name a few. In saying that, the tone of the majority of the book is light-hearted, which those crucial scenes that much more emotional.

Verdict

Original and fun, Blood Orange Soda is perfect for Young Adult fans, and those who are looking for something new in their vampire stories.

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

