On Writing

Unwind, Make it so

https://i2.wp.com/www.quickmeme.com/img/62/628b747f8ccdfb757062f36a27eedecfc2295f515c0586e05fbfb0620c0571a2.jpgStress is horrible. No one wants stress. Studying for exams is stressful! I don’t want to study for exams, I want to work on my book. If I had my way, every day would be dedicated to writing, reading, art, music, movies, video games, animals, and absolutely none of this study-for-exams or let’s-be-sick nonsense. If only.

Alas, I do not have the power to “make it so” as Captain Picard does. Instead I am engaged in an epic battle of balancing the things I love doing, with the things I am doing out of necessity. It’s a fine balancing game. On one side of the scale, we have the bad stuff. It varies from person to person, but for me, studying and my illness are the two big ones here. On the other side of the scale, we have all of the lovely things. Writing, art, movies, games, books, friends etc. If I had it my way, there would only be this side, I wouldn’t have to try to balance it. But … that’s not realistic is it.

Make it so.

Those words are surprisingly inspiring. Yes, university is important, studying for exams is important, but I also need to make time for myself to relax and de-stress. I need the time to write, to read, to sing, to play piano, to unwind. And I must make it so! It’s not going to suddenly appear. I spend so much of my life trying to balance everything. I’ll feel guilty for reading a book instead of studying, or for relaxing when I have boxes in my room that need sorting. But here’s the thing. I am allowed to make time for myself. In saying that, I do have a tendency to avoid and make too much time for myself when, really, I should be studying.

So, I’m going to compromise. In order to better deal with the stress of study, I am setting aside me time. I am making it so. This will be time where I can do whatever I want, without pressuring myself or scolding myself for not studying. It’s up to me whether I feel like reading, writing, playing piano, playing games, watching movies, or all of the above! No pressure, just the chance to relax and unwind.

This is really important. We all need time to ourselves. Everyone gets so lost in their busy lives, I think it’s really amazing how little time we commit to ourselves. Now, I’m not saying that we should commit every second of every day and should never work or clean or do anything useful, but it’s really important to find that balance.

So if you’re feeling stressed, here’s my tip: You need to unwind. Make it so.

Happy writing!

https://i2.wp.com/www.quickmeme.com/img/96/96bb9ee41b48cf1a1b1041e26c99574dd3cfa969cbfbed9c17960577f5d9c58c.jpg

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Unwind, Make it so

  1. Absolutely right! I have at times let one side take over the other and it becomes stressful either way. Balance is key, and thanks to you for this reminder piece on just that! Today I will try and ‘unwind and MAKE IT SO!” Hope you can do the same today =)

    Like

  2. Oh yes I completely agree. I’m the same way when it comes to my responsibilities and sometimes I get really frustrated and stressed out. . . Great article! I am following your blog now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is an excellent point! I always find myself feeling guilty if I’m not studying, working or ‘doing something productive’, as it were. We have to make time and allow ourselves to do what we want sometimes – without telling ourselves that we’re ‘just putting off what needs to be done’. Relaxing needs to be done too!

    (Also, that image at the end made me smile 😀 )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

